Similan Islands, Phang-Nga

Similan Island

Similan Island

Similan Islands, Phang-Nga
The park is an archipelago consisting of 11 islands; occupying an area of approximately 140 km2 with a land area of about Similan Islands are a 24 kilometer long chain of nine islands and several rocks, located 70 kilometers off the Andaman coast in western Thailand’s Phang-Nga province. Together with the two solitary islands of Koh Bon and Koh Tachai they form the Mu Ko Similan National Park, established in 1982 as Thailand’s 43rd National Park. The surrounding sea is regarded as one of the best areas in the world for diving and snorkeling. For convenience, the Thai Department of National Parks (DNP) has assigned numbers to the islands. From north to south, they are:

Island 1: Koh Huyong
Island 2: Koh Payang
Island 3: Koh Payan
Island 4: Koh Miang
Island 5: Koh Ha
Island 6: Koh Payu
Island 7: Koh Hin Pousar
Island 8: Koh Similan
Island 9: Koh Ba-ngu
Island 10: Koh Bon
Island 11: Koh Tachai

“Similan” is a Yawi or Malay word, which means nine or a group of nine islands. In 1982, this 128 square kilometers area was declared a marine national park, and in recent years this group of nine small islands has become one of the leading attractions for visitors to Southern Thailand. Listed as among the very best beaches in Thailand.

The Similan Islands located about 50 Kilometers west of Khao Lak, Thailand and are composed of nine granite islands washed by a clear blue tropical ocean and blessed with some of the world’s finest beaches. It consists of nine islands known for long white coral sand beaches, crystal blue waters and providing some of the best scenery in Thailand. The islands are home to a huge variety of marine life of which many are rare and endangered species. It is the best place for diving and snorkeling in Thailand and one of the best diving spots in the world.

Posted in Recommend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *